Nerve by Jeanne Ryan

2

Okay. I’ll admit it. I heard about the movie several weeks before I realized that Nerve was a book. Once I did, I was quick to grab up a copy of my. Obviously, I needed to read it before I go see the movie!

I found it to be a quick read. It wasn’t long at all and I was able to finish it in a day (which, with a 4 year old and a 1 year old is a feat!). Nerve was packed with action, so I never really wanted to put it down and I never got bored.

That said I found it to be a little… lackluster.

I liked Vee and Ian well enough, but I always enjoy really getting to know my characters. I don’t need the author to reveal the name of their second grade teacher or anything like that, but I like to have time to build a connection with these characters. While reading Nerve, I didn’t really get that. One of the downfalls of so much focus on the action is that it left little room for real development.

It wasn’t just the characters I found lackluster though, it was the dares. Yes, you have to have some nerve to do the silly dares, but they were just that. Silly dares that young middle school kids might dare each other to do. Sure, I might not do them, but I would’t be entertained by them so far that I would seek out videos of others doing the dare. They just weren’t all that. And they all seemed very based in sex. So much so to me that it didn’t feel genuine and instead seemed forced and immature.

I know, I know… It’s a YA novel. But I LOVE young adult reads and I expect silly high school things to an extent, this… it just pushed it past what I enjoy I guess.

Still, I read the whole thing. It was entertaining. It was that the concept was so cool to me and had such potential that I was just expecting a little more.

 

Leave a Reply

