The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

11408650

Synopsis

Mara Dyer believes life can’t get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed.
There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.
She’s wrong.

 

Review

Browsing through the aisles of Books A Million on a Sunday evening when my infant just wouldn’t sleep, I came across this book. The cover caught my attention right away – and how could it not?! It’s beautiful and mysterious and downright impossible to pass up. The official blurb doesn’t give much away and rightly so, this book, I believe, is best to go into without any preconceptions, so I’ll keep this spoiler-free. I read the first few pages in store and was sold! If they would have let me, I might have stood there in the middle of an aisle all night flipping through the book. Alas, that kind of behavior is frowned upon, so I closed it, grabbed the sequels and headed to the register.
Now let me say that I almost never buy more than one book in a series right off the bat. But the first two chapters of this had me sold on Hodkin’s ability to weave a tale worth reading.

I realize I’m a little late to the Mara Dyer game, but if you haven’t read the start to this amazing series by Michelle Hodkin, you are missing out! The novel had me turning page after page unable to put it down, too curious to know what happens next. Hodkin introduces readers to Mara’s world and keeps us guessing from start to finish.

Mara is a girl who goes through a tragic event that’s left her with a PTSD diagnosis, an overbearing mother, and the need for a change in scenery. But it isn’t enough, Mara starts experiencing weird things (excuse my lack of poetry there, but there isn’t a better way to describe it without the possibility of spoilers) that has her questioning her very sanity. Seemingly the only thing that grounds her, offers her reprieve from the living nightmare is Noah Shaw, who’s mysterious and strange in his own right.

The twists and turns will leave you guessing and unable to put the book down until you’ve finished every last of the 450 pages.

I got this one on sale at Books A Million (as well as it’s sequels-buy two get one free baby!) and have only just managed to tear myself away from the series long enough to write this review.

Leave a Reply

