Iniquity

15847757

“Doubt thou the stars are fire;
Doubt that the sun doth move;
Doubt truth to be a liar;
But never doubt I love.”

If any single quote sums up Amy A Bartol’s Premonition Series for me, it is this.

Review: 

I’ve literally waited years to review this novel (and that’s not just my white girl shining through, it’s been actual years!) But any fan of Amy A Bartol knows that what she writes is worth the wait (and let’s be honest, she has nothing on some authors *ahem* G.R.R. Martin *ahem* as far as wait time goes).
And I mean it, Iniquity was so worth the wait.

You might be thinking, this book released more than a month ago… if you were so excited, why oh why, did it take so long to write this review? To be honest, I’ve needed the time to get over the major book hangover induced by the end of what is possibly my favorite series of all time – and OK, I had to do at least one re-read. Duh.

Iniquity starts right in the action, picking up where we left off in Incendiary and really doesn’t stop barreling forward until the whole thing comes to a close. I feel like there isn’t much I can say in a review (part of the reason it’s taken so long to write) because every little detail in Bartol’s work is so perfect that I’m hesitant to give away even the tiniest of spoilers. It’s something you really, really need to experience for yourself.
But I will say this, while the rest of the books in the series had a lot of help from supporting cast, in this one, the secondary characters (Buns, Brownie, and my favsie fav, Zephyr) that we love so much took a bit of a backseat. But that’s okay, because this wasn’t their story and in Iniquity Evie had to learn a lot about herself and some of that she had to do alone.

The past is revealed, old enemies uncovered, and a battle to end it all. You’ll be on the edge of your seat, biting your nails… but you may want to have the tissues on standby as well because I definitely spent the last quarter (at least) of the book crying for a variety of reasons. For all you out there concerned, there is a HEA. It may not be as traditional and I know now everyone liked it but I think the ending was a perfect conclusion to a wonderful journey. 

Leave a Reply

