Darken The Stars – Amy A Bartol

cover70740-medium

 

Synopsis

Kyon Ensin finally has what he’s always wanted: possession of Kricket Hollowell, the priestess who foresees the future. Together, their combined power will be unrivaled. Kricket, however, doesn’t crave the crown of Ethar—she has an unbreakable desire to live life on her own terms, a life that she desperately wants to share with her love, Trey Allairis.

As conspiracies rage in the war for Ethar, Kricket’s so-called allies want to use her as a spy. Even those held closest cannot be trusted—including Astrid, her sister, and Giffen, a member of a mysterious order with a hidden agenda. But Kricket’s resolve will not allow her to be used as anyone’s pawn, even as the Brotherhood sharpens its plans to cut out her heart.

As the destiny prophesied by her mother approaches, Kricket will backtrack through her fiery future to reshape it. For she knows one thing above all else: the only person she can truly count on is herself.

Review
(I received an eARC in exchange for an honest review)

I simultaneously loved and hated this book. It made soul soar while also causing it to weep. Seriously there were some serious waterworks at least twice while reading. Basically, it was an Amy Bartol novel and to me, gosh darn close to perfect! Darken The Stars was not at all what I expected – though I didn’t really go into it with any idea of what to expect. I knew where we left off without a clue as to where Amy would take us as we continued the journey in this installment of Kricket’s story. Our lead girl really comes into her own in this novel without Trey, Wayra, and Jax as a safety net to catch her every time she missteps. Kricket is determined to take her future into her own hands in this novel and the change and growth in her is palpable throughout Darken The Stars.
Now, my favorites of the series have been Jax and Wayra all the way. (Seriously, I love those two. Amy always writes such amazing secondary characters in a way that they don’t eclipse the main characters but make me want more and more and more of them). Unfortunately, as expected in the manner which the second installment ended, we don’t get to see much of our three favorite Cavars. I think this was the only thing I found a little disappointing in the novel.
I think what I enjoyed most about this installment was getting to see a new depth and new side to characters I had before labeled as monsters who shouldn’t make it out of the series alive. Yes, I said it, this novel may possibly (when I say that I mean it definitely will) leave you with mixed emotions about one we considered a villain — Kyon.
I wouldn’t say Kyon has changed, but I will say it’s impossible for me (a firm Kyon hater before this novel) to end the story with the same harsh opinion.
I was nervous about how it would close. Worried I’d be let down or disappointed. I was not. I actually really enjoyed the way it came to a close. Amy Bartol left the book open to a possible future of more Kricket, but if she chooses not to continue, this was a wonderful way to end it as well. I thought the ending was very true to Kricket and who she is and could not have imagined a closure more true to the character.

Darken The Stars releases September 8 for everyone to read! Go pre-order your copy now! 

Amazon
Barnes & Noble

2 thoughts on “Darken The Stars – Amy A Bartol

Leave a Reply

