Obsidian Liquor – Scarlett Dawn

25486311

 

Blurb:

The Lion Security series fires off with Obsidian Liquor, where no one escapes the Russian mafia’s flame…

While a brutal competition of America’s heroes is held in the United States, Elizabeth Forter is on a personal mission to destroy the Mayor of New York City. But when she’s caught red-handed by a man who kills for a living, her enmity rapidly turns to fear.

Daniil Kozar isn’t a man to trifle with, and Elizabeth is forced to strike a deal with the mafia king. Her every action is watched, and she needs to decide how to handle the gun-toting criminal–and his seductive charm.

Daniil may be the devil her father warned about. Or he may be the sensual awakening Elizabeth never knew she needed. Somewhere, Elizabeth’s dad is screaming a prayer…

*Originally published in The Obsidian Collection*
*This work contains sexual material intended for readers 18+*

Review:

I have to admit, I was a little hesitant to crack to this one open. I love Scarlett’s writing style and have been sucked into everything she’s written prior to this, but was concerned the plot wasn’t going to do it for me. It seemed a bit darker than everything of hers that I’ve read before, so I was concerned it would lack one of the things I love most about Scarlett’s work – the humor and banter. I needn’t worry. Obsidian Liquor has everything that makes Scarlett great! There’s some total badassery, just the right amount of snark, humor, and sexiness to make fit right in with the rest of Scarlett Dawn’s repertoire.

I will say, it started a little abruptly for me. I kept feeling like I should already know these characters because there is so much history and background that it left me feeling like I was missing out on a couple chapters that better explain and introduce some of the characters. It wasn’t my favorite of Scarlett’s work, but it was definitely worth a read – and you totally could NOT stop me from digging into the rest of the series as it’s released.

So if you’re looking for something a little dark, a little spicy, and a whole lot sexy, pick this one up!

Leave a Reply

