Unbeautiful Review

unbeautiful

In short, Unbeautiful, Jessica Sorensen’s most recent release is… well, it’s damn beautiful.

Here’s the official blurb:

Emery

You want to know my secrets? What lies beneath the pretty? The scars I can’t let anyone see? The scars tied to my secrets?
On the outside I appear normal. Some might even say perfect.
They say that I’m a pretty girl. They say I should be happy. They say that I have nothing to be angry about. That I’m popular. A cheerleader. That I’m perfect.
Perfect. Perfect. Perfect. 
But all they see is what’s on the outside.
On the inside I’m raw, open, bleeding. Scars that can’t seem to heal the wounds.
Carrying dark secrets about who I really am.
How afraid I am to tell the truth.
And it’s slowly killing me.

Ryler

Tattoos. Piercing. Scars. The guy who can’t speak.
Gothic freak. Mute. Punk. I’ve heard it all.
They say that I’m probably dangerous. They say people should stay away from me.
They say. They say. They say.
But who are they anyway?
To decide what I am.
They don’t know what’s hidden beneath the scars. Beneath the piercings and tattoos.
The secrets I keep hidden beneath the silence.
Maybe if they knew, they wouldn’t fear me so much.
Then again, maybe they’d fear me more.

Review

If you’re a diehard Jessica Sorensen fan, like myself, you’ll recognize Ryler immediately as Luke’s mute cousin that we met briefly in Luke and Violet’s story. I don’t know about you but the little bit we got of Ryler in The Certainty of Luke and Violet was enough to intrigue me. So when I discovered that he was getting his own story… the happy dance could not be contained.

Getting to know Ryler was amazing. He’s hard to resist and even harder not to fall in love with.

Emery is equally intriguing. She comes from a town thats… odd. Different from any place I’ve ever been to. Her family is just as questionable as the town in which she lives, so it’s understandable that she escapes the first moment she can- even if it means moving into a crappy apartment with shady types as neighbors. Of course, it’s here that she meets Ryler and though he, at first, frightens her she can’t seem to stay away from him. Nor can he stay away from her.

Emery’s past makes her an interesting character, and it’s more than just the town she’s come from. It’s the values she was raised to hold and sights she’s endured.

Unbeautiful is a quick read that you will not be able to put down. It pulls you into the world of these characters in such a way that you’ll forget – for at least a couple hours- that real life exists outside of book. It’s definitely one to read if you’re a fan of Sorensen, and if you haven’t yet been introduced to the amazingness that is Jessica Sorensen’s work, then this is a wonderful place to start.

Leave a Reply

