Reluctant Prince – Dani Lyn Alexander

Reluctant Prince Tour Banner

I have the privilege of being a part of the blog tour for Reluctant Prince by Dani Lyn Alexander and I’m so thrilled to be a part of this stop!

Reluctanct3

So… obviously the first thing that caught my attention with this move, (as with many) is the cover! It alone promises magic, mystery, darkness with maybe a hint of fairy tale… and hello! there’s a dragon. This is everything I look for so I couldn’t not read this one!

Synopsis:

Seventeen year old Ryleigh Donnovan is certain her life is cursed. Nothing ever goes smoothly, and her first job interview is no exception. An earthquake rocks the building, sending Ryleigh on a frantic search for her younger sister, a search which lands her in the hospital. Terrified they’ll push her for answers she can’t afford to give, Ryleigh flees with a mysterious stranger.

Jackson Maynard is about to be ordained as a Death Dealer, a warrior for the Kingdom of Cymmera, but first he must pass one more test. When he fails to acquire the human girl the prophet has chosen, he’s forced to stand trial for treason. Banished from his realm, he seeks out the girl from the vision, Ryleigh Donnovan, and together they embark on a journey to save his dying kingdom.

Review:

 This was definitely one of the most unique and exciting plots I’ve gotten to read, so I really enjoyed that aspect. I won’t give away any details because it’s hard to without spoiling something awesome, but trust me here. Dani Lyn Alexander did a stellar job of creating this world and pulling the reader in. The action starts in chapter one and keep up a nice pace. It’s a pretty short novel and quick read but well done. I never felt bored by the work, nor did I feel as if all my questions were left unanswered and I needed more. It was a good length to tell the story and keep my interest.

Now, our heroine, Ryleigh wasn’t my favorite to me, she took what could have been an amazing read and made it only a good read. My biggest problem was that I felt like she wasn’t seventeen, she didn’t speak like a seventeen year old or act like one. She’s been through a lot though and had to mature quickly so I tried to respect that, but I just couldn’t get over the way she treats her little sister. The constant use of calling her little sister “baby” and treating her like one made it seem more like her little sister was five or six instead of fourteen. And for her part, I didn’t feel like Mia acted fourteen either, she severely played into the “baby” roll acting much more like a fragile child than a young teenager. It was because of this that I found Mia a little annoying, if she had been younger (like 10 or under), I would have thought her character was great, but I had trouble getting past her immaturity and innocence level.

I did like Jackson though. He seemed to act and speak age appropriately and was a fun character. He was a lot more relatable to me than Ryleigh was – which is odd considering he’s not even human. I thought he was an excellent character and frankly I could not get enough of him.

Kai and the King were strange though. While I understand a valued advisor of the king being allowed to get away with a little more than a regular person, I can’t imagine any situation where a king would let anyone spit on his son and push for an execution. I understood that Kai believed Jackson to be inept and his dislike and hatred for Jackson made sense to me, but it was just odd that a king would allow someone to speak to his heir in that manner.

Overall, I’d say it’s a pretty good read worthy or 3 1/2 stars (Only that low because I didn’t like the main character, but the plot and the world created is an easy 5 star rating). It’s short and fast paced and leave you curious to know what happens next. This series has definite potential to be a must read.

Buy Links:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Reluctant Prince Goodreads

Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the Author: 

Dani-Lyn_Alexander (1)

Dani-Lyn Alexander lives on Long Island with her husband, three kids and three dogs. She loves spending time with her family, at the beach, the playground, or just about anywhere. In her spare time, which is rare, she enjoys reading and shopping—especially in book stores. Some of her favorite things include; Bernese Mountain Dogs, musicals, bubble baths and soft blankets. She’s an incurable insomniac and has an addiction to chocolate.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Author Goodreads

3 thoughts on “Reluctant Prince – Dani Lyn Alexander

  1. Sounds like an interesting, unique read! I enjoyed the excerpt but have to say, I was pretty immature at 17 so I may find it easier to connect with the main character. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

