The Collector’s Society – Heather Lyons

TCS BT Banner

 

Official Synopsis

 

From the author of the Fate series and The Deep End of the Sea comes a fantastical romantic adventure that has Alice tumbling down the strangest rabbit hole yet.

After years in Wonderland, Alice has returned to England as an adult, desperate to reclaim sanity and control over her life. An enigmatic gentleman with an intriguing job offer too tempting to resist changes her plans for a calm existence, though. Soon, she’s whisked to New York and initiated into the Collectors’ Society, a secret organization whose members confirm that famous stories are anything but straightforward and that what she knows about the world is only a fraction of the truth.

It’s there she discovers villains are afoot—ones who want to shelve the lives of countless beings. Assigned to work with the mysterious and alluring Finn, Alice and the rest of the Collectors’ Society race against a doomsday clock in order to prevent further destruction . . . but will they make it before all their endings are erased?

Final_eCover_450x675

 

Review

The moment I heard about this book I was struck full of excitemedown-the-rabbit-hole-ont. I have always been a fan of Alice in Wonderland and was excited to see another new twist on it. So needless to say, I was ready to follow down the rabbit hole once again the moment I found out she was going back!

In this novel, we begin with Alice living in an institution, trying to forget everything that happened while she was in Wonderland. She actually doesn’t seem in any rush to get out of the asylum, she’s grown comfortable and feels safe here, so she see’s no reason to leave. Until that is, a man visits her. He informs her that he needs her help, Wonderland needs her help and if she refuses all the innocents she one knew in Wonderland may perish. Well, if that doesn’t convince a girl to high tail it back to Wonderland, I don’t know what will.

tumblr_n030v3ABDF1swfr5yo1_500It’s a very unique story and I loved that. I’ve read many Alice and Wonderland retellings over time, but I haven’t read one like this, because it isn’t a retelling. Rather it is a continuation of Alice’s story. We get a taste of what life after Wonderland was and of course, we get to go back. Alice has changed and grown, so the experience is obviously different. I particularly enjoyed that Alice viewed the world of Wonderland in a more adult way, leaving behind some of the childish naivetés. But don’t worry, we get to see some of our favorite characters from the Alice adventure we all know so well  and we’re introduced to new characters that become just a beloved.

alice-in-wonderland-confusing

The plot is complex and can get a bit confusing, I found myself having to reread a few passages a time or two to make sure that I fully understood. I was also trying to stay a step ahead of the book, figuring out what might come next and how this and that may play out, but I never quite could (and with many books I can).

This read definitely kept me on the edge of my seat and made it impossible not to turn the page. Part of the time I felt completely submersed in Wonderland so that it was trying to come back and face reality without the insanity. And would it be Wonderland if the story didn’t make us all feel a little mad?  I enjoyed the romance and that is wasn’t the overwhelming focus of the story.  Simply put, I don’t believe I’ve ever read a story quite like The Collector’s Society . This is my first Heather Lyon’s read, but I can assure you, it will not be my last.  Look below for buy links, author info and an excerpt from the book!

Excerpt

“Do you find my ability to converse lacking, Doctor?”

He chuckles softly, no doubt remembering how I wasn’t chatty with anyone, himself included, for the first month of my stay. To be fair, it is difficult to carry on an invigorating discussion when one is shaking so hard from withdrawals they fear they might shatter into thousands of painful pieces before a single word can be uttered. Plus, there was the whole bit of how once I did open up, I raved liked a lunatic about things no normal person could imagine being true.

“Certainly not,” he says to me. “But as I must stay at the Pleasance and you must go forth into the world, it will do you good to practice on somebody new.”

“Then send in one of the orderlies. Or one of the nurses. I’ll happily chat with a staff member.”

One of his bushy, out-of-control eyebrows lifts high into his forehead.

“There are people out there who are quite content being solitary,” I point out. “Who do not need to converse with anybody but themselves and their dogs.”

He sets his pen down. “What about cats?”

Rigor mortis sets in ever so briefly at this question.

“You father said you were quite fond of cats growing up. There was one in particular that you favored. Dinah, was it not?”

“I’m—” I have to clear my throat. “Lately, I wonder if perhaps I’m more of a dog person after all.”

 

Buy Links

Amazon ** Kobo ** iTunes

Giveaway

Follow this link to enter in the giveaway!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Author Bio

heather_front_headshot

 

Heather Lyons has always had a thing for words—she’s been writing stories since she was a kid. In addition to writing, she’s also been an archaeologist and a teacher. Heather is a rabid music fan, as evidenced by her (mostly) music-centric blog, and she’s married to an even larger music snob. They’re happily raising three kids who are mini music fiends who love to read and be read to.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Links:

Website: http://www.heatherlyons.net

Author Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/heatherlyons

THE COLLECTORS’ SOCIETY Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22735431-the-collectors-society

Twitter: https://twitter.com/hymheather

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/heatherlyonsbooks?fref=ts

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/hymheather/

One thought on “The Collector’s Society – Heather Lyons

  1. Pingback: The Collectors’ Society Blog Tour Schedule! | Heather Lyons

Leave a Reply

