Armageddon [Angelbound Book 3] – Christina Bauer

22026769

 

 

Side note: If you haven’t read Anglebound & Scala – the first two books in this series, they are a must! Also, this review may contain spoilers for the other novels so don’t read it if you aren’t caught up on the series.

Here’s the Official Blurb for Armageddon:

Five years have passed since Myla Lewis last fought gladiator-style in Purgatory’s Arena. Now, she’s fighting again, only this time in Hell. And the stakes have never been higher. The King of Hell, Armageddon, has kidnapped Myla and Lincoln’s young son, Maxon.

In the wake of Maxon’s abduction, all the after-realms calling for war, and no one shouts louder than Lincoln. Myla knows that a war against Hell will cost millions of lives, so she devises her own plan, involving a small attack team and a secret entrance to Hell. Will Myla save Maxon, or will her child and all the after-realms fall to Armageddon?

Review

(I received this ARC through Netgalley in exchange for a review)

I’m gonna be honest here, this book wasn’t as much of a turn pager as the previous two in the series and I think that was in large part due to a rough beginning. Still, it did a great job of keeping my attention, it just wasn’t the stay up all night and read the whole thing straight through sort of experience for me that the first two were.

Five years almost seemed like too much time had passed to me. I kept finding myself wanted to know more about what’s happened in the last five years, but that was just kind of a personal hang up of mine. I wanted to know Linc and Myla’s reaction to finding out she was pregnant and more about their day to day life. Ultimately I thought the five year jumped worked well despite my yearning to know the middle story.

I know, I know

tumblr_mdm2dnau8I1qfevyoo1_500

Well, I did build a bridge and get over it and I am so happy I didn’t just write this on off over something so silly.

But instead we jumped right in to them with a 3 year old and havingbeen ruling for a while. Yet Myla seemed too immature for the position of queen and Scala. I found her a bit grating because she (and Linc, though to a lesser level) let their positions go to their heads and treated people unjustly because of it. It was hard for me to get past that, but if you can the rest of the book is quite enjoyable and I wished I had gotten more.

Pretty quickly it get’s damn crazy! Armageddon is back and OMG he’s kidnapping royal toddlers!

7060429

Once the shit hits the fan we see more of the kickass Myla I fell in love with in the first two books. Myla and Linc’s chemistry was still great and I love their relationship. I also love the way their relationship has grown and the parents they’ve become- it’s actually the one thing that made me appreciate the leap forward because I love knowing that they haven’t fizzled out even years and a kid later.

By the end of the book, I was like:

Emma-Stone-Screaming-This-is-the-Best-Ellen

In the end I was super happy with the way the book turned out! It was a great addition to the series and I loved it!

Leave a Reply

