Messenger [Guardian Trilogy Prequel]

 

10405405_675548189185609_7667687072334498406_n

Somehow The Messenger by Laury Falter has managed to slip under my radar for several months. For this… I am eternally ashamed. The Guardian trilogy is one of my favorites and Maggie and Eran’s story is something that’s stayed with me since I began the first novel.

I was rereading The Guardian trilogy for the umpteenth time when I decided to visit Ms Falter’s website in hopes to finding that she was working on something new. Imagine my surprise when I found out something had already been published. That’s right Messenger is released for you to read immediately, so I no longer had to wallow in self-pity without my Maggie and Eran fix, instead I was allowed to read a part of their story that had yet to be fully divulged.

If you’ve ever picked up the Guardian Trilogy by Laury Falter then you’ve already fallen in love with Maggie and Eran and have simply no excuse not to read this prequel.

Messenger is the story of Eran and Maggie’s first life together. Though we got to see bits and pieces in the original series, learning the whole story is 100% worth it! We find out more secrets, fall in love with more characters and we get to know a slightly different side of Maggie. Yes, this story is set a long freaking time ago during the peasant wars in Germany, but it does not read or feel like a historical novel, so if that’s your excuse for not picking it up… let me just go ahead and blast idea that out of the water now. I am not a huge fan of historical fiction, but like I said this reads as an awesome paranormal romance that happens to take place long ago.

Though it’s a prequel and you could technically read it before starting the Guardian series, I suggest you don’t. First, go read the Guardian series. Get to know 21st century Maggie and get to love her and watch her fall in love with Eran and kick some fallen booty and then go back and read the very start of their story. For me, having already read the Guardian series and knowing how far the characters have come make reading the start of it all that much sweeter.

Laury Falter is one of the most skilled writers I’ve come across. She pulls you in with characters that are beautiful and perfectly flawed and though some of the circumstances of the novel may not be believable, the character always are. She never fails to create an amazing world and pull me in so hard that I can’t set the story aside for even a moment.

Let me tell you, you will not be disappointed! Forreals y’all, I don’t even have anything else to say. If you loved Eran & Maggie before you’ll love them even more now so do yourself a favor and pick this one up!

Leave a Reply

