Fear Me Not [EVE Chronicles]

I know I told you all this would be a different book… but I also said I would post it on Friday… and I’m a few days past that. Sorry, I got busy and school and… well, such is life.

Anyway. I discovered this wonderful novel by Sara Wolf and encourage you to all discover it as well.

Fear Me Not follow Victoria [Vic] and her experiences at the first boarding school that will educate both human teens and Gutter [Alien] teens. The Gutters have been living on earth for eleven years now and have a very particular diet- human emotions. In order to feed off their emotions, select human volunteers have an organ implanted in them that will convert their emotions into something tangible that the Gutters can eat. All the humans at this boarding school are EVEs [the volunteers with the special organ] including Vic.

As you can imagine, not everyone is happy about mixing Gutters and humans together and people are even less happy when relationships [be it friendship or romantic] begin to form between the two groups.

Vic is an EVE to earn money so that her sister can be treated for her really bad asthma. Her driving force for staying at the school is that they’re giving her 100,000 dollars for being an EVE and she can’t afford to turn that down when it could save her sister. So she sucks it up… even if she hates the aliens.
Thing is… it’s not long before she finds out that the Gutters aren’t all that different from her, actually some of them are really cool.
Raine is Vic’s roommate. She’s a gutter and a model and she’e essentially Gutter royalty. It takes a while for Vic to warm up to her roommate but she soon finds that there’s more to Raine than what appears on the outside to be a shallow, fashion obsessed girl. I really liked Raine, but I wish- and this is something I feel about every character that isn’t Vic- I wish we got to know her better.
While the author dove into Victoria’s past and allowed up to know her very well, we only got small clues about the rest of the characters. While Vic was building relationships with Taj and Raine and Shadus she seemed to be getting closer to them and more emotionally involved, but we, as readers didn’t get to experience that as much as I would have liked.
Yes, Shadus introduces Vic to the Alien culture and parts that should be kept a secret, but I wish we had seen even more of the little things. I also wish we got to know him on a deeper level than we did.
My only other complaint is that there was one seemingly random POV change toward the end. This was totally fine and it actually was nice the only thing I didn’t like was that Sara Wolf didn’t let us know about the change and so suddenly we’re in a different POV and I spent half the chapter confused.

Though I could have used a little more secondary character development Sara Wolf does a great job of telling an intriguing story that leaves you wanting more and more. Her writing style is easy and fun to read and she is wonderful with dialogue. I can’t wait to read the next in the series and dive deeper into this world.

If you haven’t checked it out yet, this is definitely worth a read. :]

Leave a Reply

