AHHHH! Eve Silver has freaking done it again!

Eve Silver’s first book in The Game series captured my attention in a way few books will. Rush featured Miki, who is a normal girl until the moment she shoves a little girl out of oncoming traffic. From that moment on her life is no longer her own. She’ll be pulled into something that everyone simply refers to as “The Game” though it’s not a game at all. She and a team of four others are fighting aliens to the death on missions that no one will ever know about.

If you haven’t read Rush, you should stop right here right now… because I don’t want to spoil it for anyone.

At the end of Rush we find out the life changing news that Jackson is the reason Miki was pulled into the game. What?! I know… right. But we still love him. Of course we don’t get the chance to say that before we’re all separated for another mission. And this time Miki is the team leader and Jackson is nowhere to be seen.
Until of course Miki is almost hit by the Drau (bad aliens) and Jackson jumps in front of it to save her.

So. Push picks up right where Rush left off and let me tell you… it does not disappoint.
Miki and Luca return from their mission to the pizza slice but Jackson is nowhere to be seen!
Annnnnnd that’s all I’m going to give away from the plot because seriously this is too gosh darn good to give away any details. Just know. There’s lots of badass kicking alien butt and a few times where you want to kick Jackson’s.
All our favorite characters are back. Luca has backed off a bit. He’s more flirty and jokey and less territorial over Miki. But I am  a-ok with it because this book has enough that it does not need a silly love triangle.

Jackson is still the rough around the edges over protective slight asshole who can also be really freakin sweet and caring that we fell in love with in the first novel. And Miki… well, she sort of grows a pair. She had a couple meltdowns but they seemed like completely rational behavior for anyone in her position so it wasn’t to the point of annoyance.

There were so many points while reading this novel that I got too stressed out for the characters that I just had to put the book down and walk away for a minute. Of course I always ended up picking it right back up because I just HAD to know what was going to happen.
Seriously.
I was so into this book that when I reached the last page and swiped on my kindle to the next I literally cried out “NO!” when i discovered there was no next chapter. It was a really emotional and heartbreaking moment to me to realize that I finished this book and have another year’s wait before I know how the story will conclude in Crash- is that not a foreboding title or what? (But don’t worry, I am like 100% positive it will be worth the wait!)

Sooooo. Go buy Rush and Push now because you really will not regret it!

 

Leave a Reply

