Ungifted (Supernaturals Book 2)

Chameleon captured my heart. I fell in love with all the characters. Felt the heartbreak and the love and everything right along with them. So to be totally honest, when I first realized Ungifted would be focusing on a different group of people I was disappointed.
Chyea. That’s lasted for about two sentences into the book. (If that.)
How silly I was to doubt Kelly Oram. I shall hope to avoid making the same mistake in the future. Trust the authors that I love and they shan’t lead me astray.

Ungifted picks up where Chameleon left off, but instead of Dani, we meet Grace. A sweet but extremely accident prone girl who happens to be the spitting image of Dani. I liked Grace from the start. She was a bit emotional, but that get’s explained and knowing there was a reason for why she acted the way she did made it ok. Interesting even, since it adds so much to the story.
Like I said, Grace is constantly getting herself in some trouble or accident, and as a damsel in distress she obviously needs her knight in shining armor.
Except that her knight, Ethan happens to hate her guts. And she feels the same, which is totally justifiable because Ethan can downright be a pompous ass most of the time.
So Grace, a human is thrust into the world of the supernatural. Her “Knight” is part Angel, her best friend (and her brothers) are werewolves, she’s being stalked by a crazy vampire and ends up hanging with a warlock too. To say her world is turned upside down is a bit of an understatement. But she rolls with it pretty well.
I really loved every supporting character. Cynthia, the BFF is awesome. She cares and is a bit protective of Grace but she’s fun too. Cynthia has a bunch of brothers and while we don’t really get to know all of them, Caleb and Preston are both very present. I could honestly take or leave Caleb, but I really loved Preston.
He cared about Grace in a unique way, a more pure way than the others. Not because he was told to by his father, or she resembles a girl he’s loved or because of some supernatural bond. No, Preston just liked her. He was good for her- which is really frustrating and sad and horrible when you get through the novel. (I don’t want to say anything less vague than that so that I don’t spoil it.)
Though we don’t get to see Dani or Gabriel, some my other faves do make an appearance. Russ meets Grace and her friends and Duncan makes an appearance-totally have love for Duncan!

The one thing I’ve seen a lot of other reviews complain about is all the different “love angles” that were present in this book. I even read one that called Grace a slut because she kissed more than one guy in the book… silly.
I honestly wasn’t bothered by it because I didn’t think it was very prominent. At least not to Grace, maybe a bunch of guys were vying for her attention but she wasn’t really that torn.
Caleb made her uncomfortable and she seemed to barely tolerate him. Andrew was stalking her and while she pitied and felt guilt, she never had feelings for him.  Ethan wasn’t even a thought to her, even if Cynthia totally thought he was in love with her.
That really just left a bit of a crush on Russ, one that she knew would never work out because he’s still irreparably in love with Dani and Preston who she harbored a crush for.
Anyway… the point is. I didn’t think there was really a love triangle or pentagon going on.

Of course, I’ve totally ended the novel Team Ethan… and you’ll see why once you read it.

So go ahead and do so. :]

Leave a Reply

