Soul of Flame (Imdalind Series Book Four)

Image

I felt like I waited so long for this book!
Maybe all that waiting left me expecting too much. Maybe I was just expecting something a little different. Either way, I was a little disappointed with the Imdalind series most recent installment.
Hey! I know, I didn’t want to say it. Heck, I didn’t even want to think it. But I had hoped for more. (I feel a little blasphemous, honestly. Like I’m betraying one of my favorite series)
Let me start by talking about the positives.
All the characters I love are there. If at all possible, I fell even more in love with Ilyan. He’s just so heartfelt and sweet and perfect and… a whole lot of other adjectives that would take up pages.
How can you not love him? Exactly. It’s impossible.
This book really took place over just a few days, which was different but there definitely weren’t too many lulls. I can’t say I was ever bored with what I was reading. I actually really took my time reading this one. Savoring it.
The problem I had was the plot development… or lack thereof. The focus of this book was building up to this huge battle we’ve been anticipating for so long. But there just wasn’t a lot of movement or growth.
Joclyn spends so much time afraid and still living the terrors Cail created while she was trapped in his mind. I tried not to get too sick of it, because it makes total sense. If I was living in a nightmare that long, I doubt I would have handled it as well as she did. I don’t expect her to just get over it in a few days. That’s part of why I wish the book had taken place over a longer expanse of time, to give her time to get back to some semblance of normal. Because, it felt like every scene she was still terrified and experiencing a sort of PTSD.

All that said. I was happy with the book, just in comparison to the first three in the series… it wasn’t as amazing. Still, I can’t wait for more and I would recommend this book and the series to any and everyone.

Leave a Reply

