Top 13 of 2013

Narrowing down the nearly 300 books I’ve read this past year into just the top 13 wasn’t an easy task.

Of course, I read a few that were complete garbage or that I just didn’t click with and abandoned halfway through, so those few are easy to weed out. And I cut off any that weren’t actually published in 2013… even if it hurt my heart a little to do it. But I just loved so many! When I first thought to do a top 13 of 2013 I thought it would be super easy then I had a list of like 20 books and that’s when it got hard.
I tried to order them but I’m not 100% set on the numbering… I love them all so much. It’s just hard to decide.
I also didn’t give a blurb or full review on any of them because I don’t want this to take up thirty pages- I’ve reviewed a few of them in previous posts though.
Anyway, without further ado, I present to you my favorite 13 books of the past year.
Most of these fall in to the Paranormal/Fantasy genre and that is because many of the new adult/contemp romances I’ve read this year were published in 2011/12.

            13. The 5th Wave by Rick Yancy

fifthwave

This was a great read. It had me on edge almost the entire time and I loved it! If you haven’t had a chance to pick this one up yet I highly suggest it.

          12. American Girl on Saturn by Nikki Godwin

17798679

This is a completely cute and totally charming love story. I can’t get over how much I liked it. I expected it to be a bit silly and it was but in a really good way.

            11. Taking Back Forever by Amanda Karen Hooper

14062069

This was book 2 in the Kindrily Series, so if you haven’t picked up book 1 (Grasping at Eternity) yet, you really should. It’s a terrific series. The next installment should come out sometime around April… I hope.

           10. The Crescent Chronicles (Focus & Found) By Alyssa Rose Ivy

1720250215781433

Yes, I’m counting this as one because it’s book 2 and 3 of the same amazing series! I’m always scared when I get to the last book of a series I really love because I’ve been disappointed on more than one occasion, but this was not a disappointment. The spinoff series Empire Chronicles is on my list to read, but I haven’t made time for it just yet.

           9. Through Glass by Rebecca Ethington

index

            This book completely surprised me. I didn’t know what to expect really and I wasn’t at all disappointed!

           8. Sentinel by Jennifer Armentrout

13605723

            Sentinel was the perfect end to the Covenant Series. I couldn’t have imagined it more perfect. I don’t even know what else to say!

            7. Fable by Chanda Hahn

17904700

            The Unfortunate Fairy Tale Series is so good I don’t even know what to do with myself. It’s one of those that after I read the book I need time to adjust back to reality because I’ve been so into the world created by Chanda Hahn.

            6. Rush by Eve Silver

13571953

            This is a wonderful start to The Game series. I can’t wait to read the next one, that cliff hanger of an ending killed me and I’m dying waiting to know what happens! DYING.

            5. Imdalind Series (Eyes of Ember &Scorched Treachery) by Rebecca Ethington

1787449417304097

            Yep. This is another two for the price of one. These books just keep getting better and better. I was hooked with the first one and then read Eyes of Ember and was floored so when I picked up Scorched Treachery I didn’t think it would live up. It totally did!

4. Forever of Ella and Micha by Jessica Sorensen

16055475

            I am a huge Jessica Sorensen fan so I picked up this book the moment it was released and I thought it was a completely wonderful continuation of the love story. That said I think she should have stopped with Ella and Micha after this one, I just didn’t love the third. But read this one for sure!

            3. Darkness Fades by Jessica Sorensen

13563374

            Like I said, I’m a fan… so of course she makes my list twice near the top. This was probably my most anticipated book of the year. Every delay broke my heart but when it was finally released I loved it. It was better than I expected and I was expecting greatness.

           2. Under Different Stars by Amy A. Bartol

Under Different Stars_book cover

            Read the review. I loved this. Loved, loved, loved. This is going to be such a great series I reckon it’ll rival The Premonition Series for a top spot in my heart.

  1. King Hall by Scarlett Dawn

KingHall

King Hall is my favorite book of the year. (And King Cave was even better! But since it won’t technically be released until tomorrow, it can’t go on my 2013 list because tomorrow is 2014.) Anyway this book had everything I love in a book. This series and me equals true love.

Leave a Reply

