Through Glass

Image

 

I read the Imdalind series by Rebecca Ethington a while back and loved it! (Sidenote I cannot wait for the next one to come out!)

So, when she announced Soul of Flame was being delayed I was heartbroken and did was any fan would do. I reread the series. When I got to the end of Scorched Treachery–much to quickly I might add, but I can’t help it, when I love something I have trouble making it last and not devouring it all at once- I noticed that there was a sample of Through Glass.

I had seen the cover and read the description before but had so many other books on my list and when I didn’t, I had honestly forgotten I was interested. So Thank Heavens I reread The Imdalind Series, right, or I might have never been reminded of this gem.
Let me tell you. I loved loved LOVED this book.

It started off so sweet I could puke. Especially since I knew it only pages until this sweet love story changed into something a bit darker. The author did such a terrific job pulling me in and making me fall for these characters at the start that by the time the world went dark my heart was breaking right along with theirs.
Lex. At the start I could totally relate to her at eighteen. I was pretty much in the same shoes, in love with one of my best friends who had friend-zoned me and then later let me know he was in love with me. Because of that, I felt an immediate kinship to Alexis and couldn’t help but root for her from the start. You have to cheer for the heroine that reminds you of yourself… Duh! You really get to see her change from a scared little girl into someone much stronger and willing to fight. (I don’t want to say much more or give to many details because I really don’t want to spoil any part of this.)Cohen. He’s sweet and loving and I like him a lot. I am so, so glad we got to read a short bit from his POV, but I wish we had seen more, so hopefully in the next installments we’ll get to hear more from Cohen. He was such an easy character to love. I can’t stand when it takes a long time to warm up to the story’s hero, and that was soooo not the case here. I think it was love at first page for me and Cohen though.
The suspense drove me crazy in the best possible way! There were constantly new surprised or something unexpected happening and it made turning each page so much fun.
If you’re a fan of the Imdalind Series, I am sure you will love this. While the stories aren’t too similar, it’s still the same wonderful character development and writing style. I would recommend this book to anyone who would listen to me.

Leave a Reply

